Red vs. Blue and Purple Teaming: IR training camps

How quickly does your Blue Team detect offensive actions? Is the severity correctly classified and how long does it take to successfully fend off the attack? Red vs. Blue Teaming or Purple Teaming optimizes these values.

Blue Team Training
This video will be loaded from YouTube while playing. By clicking here you accept the data protection declaration of HVS Consulting / IS-FOX and YouTube.

Theory of colors: Red-Blue-Purple

Objective

Testing a threat scenario in a realistic way

Red Teaming is about testing an entire threat scenario under the most realistic conditions possible.

  • The attackers (Red Team) are given a target and try to achieve it step by step.
  • The defenders (Blue Team) are not privy to it.
  • The goal of the attackers is to reach the defined scenario goal and to remain undetected, if necessary over several attempts and paths.

To the classic Red Teaming

Requirements

 A well-trained Blue Team in the 1st or 2nd league.

You need a well-trained and well-practiced Blue Team that is technically and professionally capable of detecting and handling professional attacks that also occur "under the radar". In addition, your security monitoring, for example the SIEM, must be well developed, because our Red Team knows the usual blind spots.

Newly established Security Operation Centers (SOC) or Cyber Defense Centers (CDC) usually can't do that yet and will view the entire assessment as an disgrace. Understandably so, because it's a bit like pitting a county league team against the last Champions League winner and asking afterwards why they lost so badly.

Objective

Test and optimize the detection capabilities of the Blue Team.

In Red vs. Blue Teaming, individual attack actions are defined. The objective is not for the Red Team to achieve a set goal by hacking, but to simulate the various attack steps it would take. For each of these steps, it is then checked whether and how quickly the Blue Team detects it and when a response is made.

  • The attackers (Red Team) receive whitebox information and prepare all attack steps.
  • The defenders (Blue Team) either know that something is going on, but of course not what, or they don't know anything about it.
  • The goal is to execute the defined set of small test actions in a certain period of time and measure the detection and reaction of the Blue Team. Together with the Blue Team, the steps are analyzed afterwards and - if necessary - optimized.
Requirements

An established Blue Team with mature detection technology. 

A high level of maturity in security monitoring tools (SIEM or EDR) is a mandatory requirement for detecting anything at all. Otherwise, without the appropriate tools, you will only learn what you cannot detect.

In addition, your Blue Team and associated escalation processes should already be in place. After all, Red vs. Blue Teaming is about correctly classifying an incident as quickly as possible and initiating the right response. If it is clear to you that this is not yet running smoothly, table top exercises are much more economical and constructive.

You can find more information about Red vs. Blue-Teaming on this page below.

Objective

Incident response training in the professional league. 

Purple Teaming starts where Red vs. Blue Teaming leaves off: You have recognized an attack, or in practice rather one of the many steps that happen, and have initiated further steps. Now it is about understanding quickly and professionally what is really behind the alarm, whether danger is imminent and which countermeasures have to be initiated.

  • The attackers (Red Team) receive whitebox information and prepare all attack steps, or artifacts that are left behind.
  • The defenders (Blue Team) know about the assessment, after all they have a lot of work to do. However, they do not know any details.
  • The goal is to use the defined set of attack actions to measure the maturity of the incident response in the Blue Team and - if necessary - to optimize it. 
Requirements

A Blue Team of the 1st League with detection technology and incident response processes. 

Your well-trained and practiced Blue Team must have defined and trained incident response processes with runbooks or playbooks in addition to security monitoring tools (SIEM or EDR). Purple Teaming is not about detection and initial classification, but about triage and response with the associated steps of containment, analysis and remediation.

Then Purple Teaming further sharpen and train these processes. And we can still identify optimization potential in the procedures, individual skills and tools used.

You can find more information about Purple Teaming on this page below.

 

Red vs. Blue Teaming

The perfect solution if you want to know how well your external or internal SOC is performing. 

Red vs. Blue Teaming is not about successfully completing a specific attack scenario and identifying vulnerabilities in systems and applications, but about executing or simulating a broader range of attack actions. These may or may not belong to a specific threat scenario.

The Blue Team is basically "on board" here; it is a cooperative assessment. However, it is not aware of any planned attack actions in advance. The Blue Team can be put on heightened alert, leading to more ambition and motivating results. In any case, representatives of the Blue Team must be informed in order to have appropriate resources available and to be able to de-escalate.

The process of a Red vs. Blue Teaming

 

At the beginning we define the goals of the project, adapted to the level of the Blue Team, in order to have challenging but still feasible test cases.

Then, a detection hypothesis and appropriate parameters are defined for each test case.

In the execution phase, the test cases are executed one by one. This can be done in one concentrated action or spread out over a longer period of time.

After a test case is triggered, we observe whether the attack action is detected and reported to the Blue Team. We measure the "Time to Detection" (TTD) and the "Time to Reaction" (TTR) for this purpose. The Blue Team is then immediately informed and - if necessary - the situation is de-escalated.

Red vs. Blue Teaming delivers the most sustainable success when it is not designed as a single project, but is carried out on a regular basis. In this way, we can train different aspects and measure continuous progress.

Do you want to test and improve your Blue Team?

Let's get to know each other in a web meeting and talk about which teaming color fits your situation.
Yes, I'm interested

Purple Teaming

he detection of security incidents is important, the correct response to them is crucial. 

Purple Teaming is not about successfully completing a specific attack scenario and identifying vulnerabilities in systems and applications, but analyzing the response to detected incidents. These may or may not belong to a specific threat scenario.

The Blue Team is basically "on board" here; it is a cooperative assessment. However, it does not know any details about the simulated incidents in advance.

Purple Teaming

The process of a Purple Teaming

 

At the beginning, we define the goals of the project, adapted to the level of the Blue Team, in order to have challenging, yet feasible test cases.

Then, for each test case, the expected results are defined and preparations are made to generate the necessary traces and artifacts.

In the execution phase, the test cases are executed one by one and the Blue Team is informed about each one.

After a test case is triggered, we observe how the Blue Team gets an overview of the initial situation, classifies the severity, secures evidence, initiates immediate actions (containment), performs root-cause analysis, identifies potential damage, and what remediation and recovery actions are advised.

Purple Teaming brings the most sustainable success when it is not designed as a stand-alone project, but is conducted on a regular basis. This way, we can train on different aspects and measure continuous progress.

Red vs. Blue und Purple Teaming: Trainingslager für Incident Response

Wie schnell erkennt Ihr Blue Team Angriffsaktionen? Wird der Schweregrad richtig eingestuft und wie lange dauert es bis zur erfolgreichen Abwehr? Red vs. Blue Teaming oder Purple Teaming optimiert diese Werte.

Blue Team Training
Dieses Video wird beim Abspielen von YouTube geladen. Mit dem Abspielen akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärungen von HVS Consulting / IS-FOX und YouTube.

Farbenlehre: Red-Blue-Purple

Zielsetzung

Ein Bedrohungsszenario realistisch durchexerzieren

Im Red Teaming geht es darum, ein gesamtes Bedrohungsszenario unter möglichst realistischen Bedingungen zu testen.

  • Die Angreifer (Red Team) bekommen ein Ziel genannt und versuchen dieses Schritt für Schritt zu erreichen.
  • Die Verteidiger (Blue Team) sind nicht eingeweiht.
  • Ziel der Angreifer ist es, an das  definierte Szenarienziel zu kommen und dabei unentdeckt zu bleiben, notfalls über mehrere Anläufe und Wege.

Zum klassischen Red-Teaming

Voraussetzungen

Ein gut ausgebildetes Blue Team in der 1. oder 2. Liga

Sie benötigen ein gut ausgebildetes und eingespieltes Blue Team, das technisch und fachlich in der Lage ist, professionelle Angriffe, die auch "unter dem Radar" stattfinden, zu entdecken und zu behandeln. Zudem muss Ihr Security Monitoring, beispielsweise das SIEM, gut ausgebaut sein, denn unser Red Team kennt die üblichen Blinden Flecken.

Frisch etablierte Security Operation Center (SOC) oder Cyber Defense Center (CDC) können das in der Regel noch nicht leisten und werden das gesamte Assessment als Bloßstellung ansehen. Verständlicherweise, denn das ist ein bisschen, als würden Sie eine Kreisliga-Mannschaft gegen den letzten Championsleague-Sieger antreten lassen und hinterher fragen, warum sie so hoch verloren haben.

Zielsetzung

Die Detection Fähigkeiten des Blue Teams testen und optimieren

Im Red vs. Blue Teaming werden einzelne Angriffsaktionen definiert. Es geht nicht darum, dass das Red Team durch Hacking ein gestecktes Ziel erreicht, sondern die einzelnen Angriffsschritte, die es unternehmen würde, zu simulieren. Für jeden dieser Schritte wird dann geprüft, ob und wie schnell das Blue Team es erkennt und wann eine Reaktion erfolgt.

  • Die Angreifer (Red Team) erhalten Whitebox Informationen und bereiten alle Angriffsschritte vor.
  • Die Verteidiger (Blue Team) wissen entweder, dass etwas passieren wird, aber natürlich nicht was, oder sie wissen gar nichts davon.
  • Ziel ist, das definierte Set an kleinen Testaktionen in einem bestimmten Zeitraum auszuführen und die Detection und Reaktion des Blue Teams zu messen. Gemeinsam mit dem Blue Team werden die Schritte im Nachgang analysiert und - falls erforderlich - optimiert.
Voraussetzungen

Ein etabliertes Blue Team mit ausgereifter Erkennungstechnik 

Ein hoher Reifegrad der Security-Monitoring-Tools (SIEM oder EDR) ist eine zwingende Voraussetzung, damit es überhaupt etwas zu erkennen gibt. Ohne entsprechende Tools erfahren Sie sonst nur, was Sie alles nicht entdecken können.

Zudem sollte Ihr Blue Team und die zugehörigen Eskalationsprozesse bereits eingespielt sein. Beim Red vs. Blue-Teaming geht es ja darum, einen Incident möglichst schnell korrekt einzustufen und die richtige Reaktion einzuleiten. Wenn Ihnen klar ist, dass das noch nicht rund läuft, sind Table Top Übungen wesentlich wirtschaftlicher und konstruktiver.

Weitere Informationen zu Red vs. Blue-Teaming finden Sie auf dieser Seite weiter unten.

Zielsetzung

Training der Incident Response in der Profi-Liga. 

Purple Teaming setzt dort an, wo das Red vs. Blue Teaming aufhört: Man hat einen Angriff bzw. in der Praxis ja eher einen der vielen Schritte, die da passieren, erkannt und weitere Schritte eingeleitet. Jetzt geht es darum, schnell und professionell zu verstehen, was wirklich hinter dem Alarm steckt, ob Gefahr in Verzug ist und welche Gegenmaßnahmen eingeleitet werden müssen.

  • Die Angreifer (Red Team) erhalten Whitebox Informationen und bereiten alle Angriffsschritte, bzw. Artefakte die hinterlassen werden vor.
  • Die Verteidiger (Blue Team) wissen von dem Assessment, schließlich kommt ja viel Arbeit auf sie zu. Sie kennen aber keine konkreten Inhalte.
  • Ziel ist, mit dem definierten Set an Angriffsaktionen den Reifegrad der Incident Response im Blue Team zu messen und - falls erforderlich - zu optimieren. 
Voraussetzungen

Ein Blue Team der 1. Liga mit Erkenungstechnik und Incident Response Prozessen 

Ihr gut ausgebildetes und eingespieltes Blue Team muss neben Security Monitoring Tools (SIEM oder EDR) auch über definierte und trainierte Incident Response Prozesse mit Runbooks oder Playbooks verfügen. Beim Purple Teaming geht es nicht um die Detection und initiale Einstufung, sondern um die Triage und die Response mit den zugehörigen Schritten Containment, Analyse und Remediation.

Dann kann das Purple-Teaming diese Prozesse weiter schärfen und trainieren. Und wir können noch Optimierungspotenzial in den Verfahren, individuellen Skills und eingesetzten Tools identifizieren.

Weitere Informationen zu Purple-Teaming finden Sie auf dieser Seite weiter unten.

 

Red vs. Blue Teaming

Die perfekte Lösung, wenn Sie wissen wollen wie gut Ihr externes oder internes SOC performt. 

Im Red vs. Blue Teaming geht es nicht darum, ein bestimmtes Angriffsszenario erfolgreich abzuschließen und Schwachstellen in Systemen und Anwendungen zu identifizieren, sondern eine breitere Palette an Angriffsaktionen auszuführen oder zu simulieren. Diese können, müssen aber nicht zu einem bestimmten Bedrohungsszenario gehören.

Das Blue Team ist hier grundsätzlich "mit im Boot", es ist ein kooperatives Assessment. Es kennt aber vorab keine geplanten Angriffsaktionen. Das Blue Team kann in erhöhte Alarmbereitschaft versetzt werden, was zu mehr Ehrgeiz und motivierenden Ergebnissen führt. Auf jeden Fall müssen Vertreter des Blue Teams informiert sein, um entsprechende Ressourcen vorzuhalten und um deeskalieren zu können.

Der Ablauf eines Red vs. Blue Teaming

 

Zu Beginn definieren wir die Ziele des Projektes, angepasst an den Level des Blue Teams, um herausfordernde, aber dennoch machbare Testfälle zu haben.

Anschließend werden für jeden Testfall eine Detection-Hypothese und passende Parameter definiert.

In der Durchführungsphase werden die Testfälle nacheinander ausgeführt. Das kann in einer konzentrierten Aktion erfolgen oder über einen längeren Zeitraum verteilt statt finden.

Nach dem Auslösen eines Testfalls beobachten wir, ob die Angriffsaktion entdeckt und an das Blue Team gemeldet wird. Wir messen hierfür die "Time to Detection" (TTD)  und die "Time to Reaction" (TTR). Anschließend wird das Blue Team unmittelbar aufgeklärt und - falls erforderlich - die Situation deeskaliert.

Red vs. Blue Teaming bringt den nachhaltigsten Erfolg, wenn es nicht als Einzelprojekt angelegt ist, sondern regelmäßig durchgeführt wird. So können verschiedene Aspekte trainiert und der kontinuierliche Fortschritt gemessen werden.

Wollen Sie Ihr Blue Team testen und verbessern?

Lassen Sie uns in einem Webmeeting kennenlernen und darüber sprechen, welche Teaming-Farbe zu Ihrer Situation passt.
Ja, ich bin interessiert!

Purple Teaming

Die Erkennung von Security Incidents ist wichtig, die richtige Response darauf entscheidend. 

Im Purple Teaming geht es nicht darum, ein bestimmtes Angriffsszenario erfolgreich abzuschließen und Schwachstellen in Systemen und Anwendungen zu identifizieren, sondern die Reaktion auf erkannte Incidents zu analysieren. Diese können, müssen aber nicht zu einem bestimmten Bedrohungsszenario gehören.

Das Blue Team ist hier grundsätzlich "mit im Boot", es ist ein kooperatives Assessment. Es kennt aber vorab keine Details über die simulierten Incidents.

Purple Teaming

Der Ablauf eines Purple-Teaming

 

Zu Beginn definieren wir die Ziele des Projektes, angepasst an den Level des Blue Teams, um herausfordernde, aber dennoch machbare Testfälle zu haben.

Anschließend werden für jeden Testfall die erwarteten Ergebnisse definiert und Vorbereitungen getroffen, um die notwendigen Spuren und Artefakte zu erzeugen.

In der Durchführungsphase werden die Testfälle nacheinander ausgeführt und das Blue Team jeweils darüber informiert.

Nach dem Auslösen eines Testfalls beobachten wir, wie das Blue Team sich einen Überblick über die initiale Lage verschafft, den Schweregrad einstuft, Beweise sichert, Sofortmaßnahmen einleitet (Containment), eine Root-cause Analyse durchführt, potentielle Schäden ermittelt und welche Maßnahmen zur Bereinigung und Wiederherstellung empfohlen werden.

Purple Teaming bringt den nachhaltigsten Erfolg, wenn es nicht als Einzelprojekt angelegt ist, sondern regelmäßig durchgeführt wird. So können verschiedene Aspekte trainiert und der kontinuierliche Fortschritt gemessen werden.