Red Teaming: How good is your resilience and detection?

How successful could attackers be in a given threat scenario? And how much would you detect? A Red Teaming assessment provides the answer.

Red Teaming
This video will be loaded from YouTube while playing. By clicking here you accept the data protection declaration of HVS Consulting / IS-FOX and YouTube.

The supreme discipline: Red Teaming

A realistic simulation of a real attack to challenge your cyber defense.

Red Teaming is the perfect solution when you have a concrete threat scenario in mind and want to know the likelihood of it occurring and what parts of the attack your Cyber Defense Center (the Blue Team) would detect.

Since Red Teaming does not inform the Blue Team in advance, such an assessment is not very effective without a well-developed Blue Team. Newly established SOCs or CDCs are still busy with day-to-day operations and typically (not without reason) view such a predictive outcome less as an aid and more as an exposure. However, to benefit from Red Teaming, it is not helpful to look for culprits, but for solutions.

How do we proceed with Red Teaming

 

First, we jointly define a realistic and well-founded scenario with clearly defined goals (flags) that well depicts a concrete threat, is actionable, and promises insight.

Based on this scenario, we gather relevant threat intelligence. These are methods, tactics and procedures (TTP), how real attackers act or would act in this scenario. In addition, we evaluate information about your organization such as business units, locations, employees and infrastructure. For this purpose, we use OSINT and HUMINT sources as well as internal information. From this information, we create an attack plan and prepare the individual steps. Since we attack real production systems, the tasks of the so-called white team are critical to success: good preparation, a coordinated attack plan, defined rules of the game and escalation procedures, as well as close coordination in regular meetings.

Then the actual attack starts. Our Red Team tries to get closer to the defined goal step by step using various methods. Depending on the scenario, this may require several attempts and pauses, for example if an alarm has been triggered. An adjustment of the attack plan or assistance from you may also be necessary if the Red Team reaches an impasse.

After execution and reporting, the Read Team discloses all activities to the Blue Team in a replay workshop. Together, we constructively discuss which activities were identified and where improvement actions should be planned.

The overall result of Red Teaming is to answer not only the question of whether the examined threat could occur. Above all, it provides valuable information on how to improve the resilience and detection capabilities of your Blue Team. After a Red Teaming, however, there will still be undiscovered vulnerabilities because, in contrast to an IT stress test, the Red Team is only looking for one path to the target.

Background information and characteristics

The phases

Preparation

  • Meeting to agree on the scope
  • Kick-off meeting

Execution

  • Workshop for scenario definition
  • Threat intelligence (HUMINT / OSINT)
  • Attack planning and preparation
  • Execution of the attack with hacking, if necessary on-site inspection and social engineering
  • Regular status meetings

Evaluation

  • Preparation of a detailed report
  • Replay workshop with the Blue Team
  • Management presentation
Hacking methodology

When conducting security assessments, HvS follows common industry standards. For realistic assessments, it is obvious to use the Mitre Att&ck Framework, which describes the generic approach of real attackers.

It consists of the following phases: Reconnaissance, Resource Development, Initial Access, Execution, Persistence, Privilege Escalation, Defense Evasion, Credential Access, Discovery, Lateral Movement, Collection, Command and Control, Exfiltration, Impact.

The focus on individual phases depends on the scenario. However, we recommend that you do not run through the entire attack chain straight away, but rather carry out several smaller assessments. This reduces the project risks and the Blue Team must expect an attack at any time... real attackers don't just strike every three years.

  • Lateral movement from DMZ to internal network
  • C2 channel on client and internal reconnaissance
  • Would Ransomware group X be successful with its standard approach at your site?
  • Can an internal employee make an illegal financial transaction?
TIBER = Threat Intelligence Based Ethical Red teaming

The European Central Bank has published the TIBER-EU Framework, which describes a comprehensive approach to conducting Red Teaming assessments within the financial industry. The German Bundesbank has adapted this framework as the TIBER-DE Framework.

It is motivated by the fact that attacks against the financial system have increased in recent years. While many organizations conduct assessments themselves, but focus on their core business processes and crown jewels, TIBER focuses on critical functions of the global financial system and tries to shed light on the impact of attacks on individual institutions.

Apart from the specific objective, the framework describes a very professional approach on how to design Red Teaming and includes success factors and risks as well as many tips on how to proceed. A TIBER test is conducted by a large project team consisting of a White Team, a Threat Intelligence Team, a Red Team, a Blue Team and management representatives.

 

TIBER phases and more information

The core phases of a TIBER test are: Scope definition, creation of a targeted threat intelligence report (TTIR), creation of a Red Team test plan, execution of the defined scenarios, creation of a test report, a replay workshop and creation of an action plan.

Our entire HvS approach to Red Teaming is inspired by the TIBER framework. However, as long as you are not obligated to TIBER, we always recommend conducting a Red Teaming as you can customize the content to meet your needs.

If you are interested in a TIBER test, feel free to contact us and we will be happy to explain our approach.

More information on the TIBER-EU Framework can be found at the ECB: https://www.ecb.europa.eu/paym/cyber-resilience/tiber-eu/html/index.en.html and information about TIBER-DE at the Bundesbank: https://www.bundesbank.de/de/aufgaben/unbarer-zahlungsverkehr/serviceangebot/tiber-de/tiber-de-816986

Do you want to know how good your resilience and detection is?

Let's get to know each other in a web meeting and talk about your objectives.
Yes, I'm interested

Red Teaming: Wie gut ist Ihre Resilience und Detection?

Wie erfolgreich könnten Angreifer in einem bestimmten Bedrohungsszenario sein? Und wie viel würden Sie erkennen? Ein Red Teaming Assessment gibt die Antwort.

Red Teaming
Dieses Video wird beim Abspielen von YouTube geladen. Mit dem Abspielen akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärungen von HVS Consulting / IS-FOX und YouTube.

Die Königsdisziplin: Red Teaming

Eine realitätsnahe Simulation eines echten Angriffs um Ihre Cyber Defense herauszufordern.

Ein Red-Teaming ist die perfekte Lösung, wenn Sie ein konkretes Bedrohungsszenario vor Augen haben und wissen wollen, mit welcher Wahrscheinlichkeit es eintreten kann und welche Teile des Angriffs Ihr Cyber Defense Center (das Blue Team) erkennen würde.

Da beim Red Teaming das Blue Team nicht vorab informiert wird, ist ein solches Assessment ohne ein gut entwickeltes Blue Team wenig zielführend. Frisch etablierte SOCs oder CDCs sind noch mit dem Tagesgeschäft beschäftigt und werten ein solches vorhersagbares Ergebnis typischerweise (nicht ganz zu Unrecht) weniger als Hilfestellung, sondern eher als Bloßstellung. Um aber von einem Red Teaming zu profitieren, hilft nicht die Suche nach Schuldigen, sondern nach Lösungen.

Wie gehen wir bei Red Teaming vor

Zu Beginn definieren wir gemeinsam ein realistisches und fundiertes Szenario mit klar definierten Zielen (Flags), das eine konkrete Bedrohung gut abbildet, umsetzbar ist und Erkenntnisgewinn verspricht.

Auf der Grundlage dieses Szenarios sammeln wir relevante Threat Intelligence. Das sind Methoden, Taktiken und Verfahrensweisen (Techniques, Tactics and Procedures = TTP), wie echte Angreifer in diesem Szenario vorgehen oder vorgehen würden. Zusätzlich werten wir Informationen über Ihre Organisation wie Geschäftsfelder, Standorte, Mitarbeiter und die Infrastruktur aus. Dazu nutzen wir sowohl OSINT und HUMINT Quellen, als auch interne Informationen. Aus diesen Informationen erstellen wir einen Angriffsplan und bereiten die einzelnen Schritte vor. Da wir echte Produktivsysteme angreifen, sind die Aufgaben des sogenannten White Teams erfolgskritisch: eine gute Vorbereitung, ein abgestimmter Angriffsplan, definierte Spielregeln und Eskalationsverfahren, sowie enge Abstimmung in regelmäßigen Meetings.

Dann erst startet der eigentliche Angriff. Unser Red Team versucht, über verschiedene Methoden Schritt für Schritt dem definierten Ziel näher zu kommen. Hierfür können - je nach Szenario - auch mehrere Anläufe und Pausen notwendig sein, beispielsweise wenn ein Alarm ausgelöst wurde. Auch eine Anpassung des Angriffsplans oder Hilfestellung durch Sie kann notwendig sein, wenn das Red Team in einer Sackgasse landet.

Nach der Durchführung und Berichterstellung legt das Read Team dem Blue Team in einem Replay Workshop alle Aktivitäten offen. Gemeinsam besprechen wir konstruktiv, welche Aktivitäten erkannt wurden und wo Verbesserungsmaßnahmen geplant werden sollten.

Im Gesamtergebnis beantwortet ein Red Teaming also nicht nur die Frage, ob die betrachtete Bedrohung eintreten könnte. Es liefert vor Allem wertvolle Hinweise zur Verbesserung Ihrer Resilience und Erkennungsfähigkeiten Ihres Blue Teams. Nach einem Red Teaming werden aber immer noch unentdeckte Schwachstellen existieren, da sich im Gegensatz zu einem IT Stresstest das Red Team nur einen Weg zum Ziel sucht.

Hintergrundinformationen und Ausprägungen

Die Phasen

Vorbereitung

  • Termin zur Abstimmung des Scopes
  • Kick-Off-Meeting

Durchführung

  • Workshop zur Szenario Definition
  • Threat intelligence (HUMINT / OSINT)
  • Angriffsplanung und Vorbereitung
  • Durchführung des Angriffs mit Hacking, ggf. Vor-Ort-Begehung und Social Engineering
  • Regelmäßige Status Meetings

Auswertung

  • Erstellung eines detaillierten Berichts
  • Replay Workshop mit dem Blue Team
  • Management Präsentation
Hacking Methodologie

Bei der Durchführung von Security Assessments orientiert sich HvS an gängigen Branchenstandards. Bei realitätsnahen Assessments liegt es nahe, das Mitre Att&ck Framework zu nutzen, das die generische Vorgehensweise von echten Angreifern beschreibt.

Es besteht aus den folgenden Phasen: Reconnaissance, Resource Development, Initial Access, Execution, Persistence, Privilege Escalation, Defense Evasion, Credential Access, Discovery, Lateral Movement, Collection, Command and Control, Exfiltration, Impact

Die Schwerpunktsetzung auf einzelne Phasen hängt vom jeweiligen Szenario ab. Wir empfehlen aber, nicht gleich die gesamte Angriffskette durchzuspielen, sondern lieber mehrere kleinere Assessments durchzuführen. Das reduziert die Projektrisiken und das Blue Team muss jederzeit mit einem Angriff rechnen... echte Angreifer schlagen ja auch nicht nur alle drei Jahre zu.

  • Lateral Movement von der DMZ in das interne Netz
  • C2-Kanal auf Client und interne Reconnaissance
  • Wäre die Ransomware-Gruppe X mit ihrem Standardvorgehen bei Ihnen erfolgreich?
  • Kann ein interner Mitarbeiter eine illegale Finanztransaktion tätigen?
TIBER = Threat Intelligence Based Ethical Red teaming

Die Europäische Zentralbank hat das TIBER-EU Framework veröffentlicht, das einen umfassenden Ansatz zur Durchführung von Red Teaming Assessments innerhalb der Finanzbranche beschreibt. Die Deutsche Bundesbank hat dieses Framework als  TIBER-DE Framework angepasst.

Die Motivation ist, dass in den letzten Jahren Angriffe gegen das Finanzsystem zugenommen haben. Während viele Organisationen selbst Assessments durchführen, dabei den Fokus aber auf Ihre Kerngeschäftsprozesse und Kronjuwelen ausrichten, konzentriert sich das TIBER auf kritische Funktionen des globalen Finanzsystems und versucht die Auswirkungen durch Angriffe auf einzelne Institute zu beleuchten.

Abgesehen von der spezifischen Zielsetzung beschreibt das Framework einen sehr professionellen Ansatz, wie man Red Teaming gestalten kann und enthält neben Erfolgsfaktoren und Risiken auch viele Tips für die Vorgehensweise. Ein TIBER Test wird von einem großen Projektteam durchgeführt, das aus einem White Team, einem Threat Intelligence Team, einem Red Team, einem Blue Team und Managementvertretern besteht.

 

TIBER Phasen und weitere Informationen

Die Kernphasen eines TIBER Tests sind: Scope Definition, Erstellung eines gezielten Threat Intelligence Berichts (TTIR), Erstellung eines Red Team Test Plans, Durchführung der definierten Szenarien, Erstellung eines Test Berichts, einem Replay Workshop und Erstellung eines Maßnahmenplans.

Unser ganzer HvS-Ansatz für Red Teaming ist durch das TIBER Framework inspiriert. Solange für Sie aber nicht zu TIBER verpflichtet sind, empfehlen wir immer die Durchführung eines Red Teamings, da Sie die Inhalte an Ihre Bedürfnisse anpassen können.

Wenn Sie Interesse an einem TIBER Test haben, sprechen Sie uns gerne an, dann erläutern wir Ihnen gerne unsere Vorgehensweise.

Mehr Informationen zum TIBER-EU Framework finden Sie bei der EZB: https://www.ecb.europa.eu/paym/cyber-resilience/tiber-eu/html/index.en.html und Informationen zu TIBER-DE bei der Bundesbank: https://www.bundesbank.de/de/aufgaben/unbarer-zahlungsverkehr/serviceangebot/tiber-de/tiber-de-816986

Wollen Sie wissen, wie gut Ihre Resilience und Detection ist?

Lassen Sie uns in einem Webmeeting kennenlernen und über Ihre Zielsetzungen sprechen.
Ja, ich bin interessiert!